Jasper County Commission of Veterans Affairs

County Annex Bldg., 115 N 2nd Ave E. Newton, Ia. 50208

Director: Kurt M. Jackson VSO Keith N. Thorpe Phone (641) 792-7993 FAX (641) 787-1302

Commissioners: Fred Dimon, Marta Ford, Susan Springer, Jerry Nelson, Mike Naber

8 January 2020

Minutes

At 1500 Commissioner Fred Dimon called the monthly meeting of the Jasper County Commission of Veterans Affairs to order. Commissioners Susan Springer, Marta Ford, Jerry Nelson and Mike Naber were present. The others in attendance were Director Kurt Jackson, Keith Thorpe and Dustin Teays from the "Newton Daily News".

The minutes of the 11 December 2019 regular meeting were reviewed. Fred Dimon stated that there being no additions or corrections of the minutes that they would stand approved as read.

Unfinished Business:

1. <u>Veterans Outreach Spring 2020 (RECON):</u> The Director provided the Commission with a two page list of ideas for the event. Commissioners discussed the various ideas provided and began to choose what they liked and what they disliked. Kurt will contact DMACC to secure a date in early April 2020. At the February 2020 Commission Meeting, the Commissioners will fine tune this project to prepare for a media blitz during the month of March 2020.

New Business:

- 1. <u>December 2019 Budget Report</u> was presented to the Commission.
- 2. <u>2nd Quarter FY 2019 2020 Budget to the Board of Supervisors:</u> Marta Ford made a motion to approve the Jasper County Veterans Affairs 2nd Quarter Budget Report. Mike Naber Seconded. Motion passed unanimously
- 3. <u>December 2019 Director's Activity Report</u> was presented to the Commission.
- 4. <u>Closed Session per Iowa Code 21.5 (i) "Customer Service":</u> Fred Dimon read the code. Susan Springer made a motion to go into closed session. Mike Naber seconded. Motion passed unanimously. Dustin Teays left the meeting at 1533. At 1550 Mike Naber made a motion to return to the open meeting. Jerry Nelson seconded. Motion passed unanimously.

Note: During the closed session No Action was required.

Announcements:

Fred Dimon stated that he will be leaving the commission when his term is up 30 June 2020.

Public Input: (None)

Confirm next meeting for Wed. Feb. 12, 2020 at 3PM in the Annex Bldg.

At 1555 Susan Springer made a motion to adjourn. Seconded by Marta Ford. The motion passed unanimously.