## **Jasper County Commission of Veterans Affairs**

County Annex Bldg., 115 N 2<sup>nd</sup> Ave E. Newton, Ia. 50208 Director: Kurt M. Jackson VSO Keith N. Thorpe Phone (641) 792-7993 FAX (641) 787-1302

Commissioners: Marta Ford, Susan Springer, Jerry Nelson, Mike Naber, Matthew Smith

9 June 2021

## **Minutes**

At 1500 Chairwoman Susan Springer called the Regular Scheduled Meeting of the Jasper County Veterans Affairs to order. The Commissioners in attendance were Marta Ford, Jerry Nelson and Michael Naber. Matthew Smith was absent. Also, present were Director Kurt Jackson and VSO/Secretary Keith Thorpe.

**Approve Minutes: 12 May 2021 Regular Meeting**: Michael Naber made a motion and Marta Ford seconded to approve the minutes as presented. The motion passed unanimously.

## **Unfinished Business:**

- **1.** <u>Veterans Outreach Tasks:</u> The Commission has scheduled a workshop meeting for 15 September 2021 at 1500 in the Annex Building to determine Veterans Outreach Tasks.
- 2. Open Meetings and Laws "Closed Sessions": The Commission has purchased a security box with two keys and memory flash cards for the safe keeping of the audio from the past and for future "Closed Meetings". At the Regular Commission Meeting 14 July 2021, the Commission will deliver the "security box" to the Jasper County Auditor for safe keeping. The two keys for the security box will remain in the custody of the Commissioners.
- **3.** <u>VetCenter "Revocable License Agreements:</u> The revocable license between the VetCenter and the Jasper County Veterans Commission has been signed and delivered. The agreement begins 1 August 2021 and has a hard expiration date of 1 August 2026.
- **4.** Female Veterans Symposium "Bombshell Patriots 24 26 September Des Moines: The Commission will sponsor local female veterans to attend the symposium. During July and August, the commission will advertise this event via local and social media. Applicants will be required to contact the Veterans Affairs Office for registration.

## **New Business:**

- 1. <u>May 2021 Director's Activity Report</u> was presented to the Commission.
- 2. May 2021 Budget/Allocation Fund FY 2020-2021 was presented to the Commission.
- 3. Allocation Fund (FY2020 2021): \$0.00
- **4.** Elect Chairperson and Secretary for FY 2021 2022: Marta Ford made a motion and Mike Naber seconded that Sue Springer be the Chairperson and Keith Thorpe be the Secretary for the upcoming FY 2021 2022. Motion passed unanimously.

(OVER)

.

**5. 2% COLA Increase for Keith N. Thorpe:** Marta Ford made a motion and Jerry Nelson Seconded that Keith N. Thorpe receive a 2% COLA increase in wages. Motion passes unanimously.

.

**Announcements: (None)** 

**Public Input: (None)** 

Confirm next meeting for Wednesday, July 14, 2021 at 1500 in the Annex Building.

At 1540 Michael Naber made a motion and Marta Ford seconded to adjourn. The motion passed unanimously.

/s/ Keith N. Thorpe